All the Cool Kids are Doing It

In just about a half-hour, we bid farewell to 2013.  I’ve spent the day with my family and made the choice to stay in rather than go out to a friend’s party and get sloshed, and I couldn’t be happier with the decision. I played Skyrim for about four hours, just took an hour long bath, read some more Side Jobs, and am now sitting in front of my computer in my pajamas, munching on crackers and fancy cheese. I may even have a glass of Beringer White Zinfandel to ring in the new year. 

The club can’t even handle me right now. 

Anyway, what would a New Year’s post be without some reflections and resolutions?  So here they are, in no particular order:

  • 2013 saw my first piece of work accepted for publication (outside of my school’s literary journal). Even though it hasn’t gone to print yet, I’m still super excited about this milestone.  I’m going to be making royalties, you guys!
  • The next Atlanta Writers Conference is in May.  I want to have my as-yet-untitled urban fantasy/cyberpunk novel (code name Lysistrata) done by then, and I will go.  I just need my finances to agree with me. 
  • I will complete at least one more short story and send it out for consideration.  Maybe in the same world as Lysistrata, like “The Body Electric.”  Maybe in the world of another work-in-progress.  A traipse through Goblintown, perhaps?
  • I will make a concerted effort to meet with my author friends more, and not just those in my writing group. I’ve got so many talented friends. We need to support each other and offer up encouragements (and liquor) when the word count gets rough. 

So, you have any good resolutions?  

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

